Coming Clean

For those of you who’ve followed the blog through all its various iterations (divergent and ridiculous as they’ve been), thank you.

In return, I’d like to share a secret with you.

I’ve hated all the changes as much as I’m sure you have.

Even if you’ve been too kind to actually say so [and please don’t start being vocal about it now–my poor fragile ego…].

I’ve watched dozens of blogs I followed as “Cross(stitch) Your Heart” celebrate five years and (among other revelations and events slightly more momentous) had to finally admit to myself I’m having a quarter-life crisis. I’m feeling a little lost (blog-wise and life-wise).

I’ve been so busy trying to shape myself into “a person you’d find on the internet” I’ve lost sight of why I bothered in the first place.

I started this blog because I wanted to connect with people. Not to become a “content creator.” Not to spend hours playing with SEO targets. Not to market myself as…anything. I just wanted to know that there were other people in the world who liked books and crafts as much as me. But for a reason I can’t quite pinpoint I thought I had to change. The same happened with my writing, which I used to love so much. What used to be authentic and worthwhile became stagnate and trite.

Thanks in part to my husband’s blunt (but kind) insistence to

 Just calm down and do whatever makes you happy.

I’m starting my new year backwards. I’m trashing the ghost of blogs past and starting over with a clean slate to go back to what I wanted to do in the first place. Write about life, books, writing, and crossstitch. I’ve also made a 30 Before 30 list that I’m sharing (most of) here to keep myself (and the blog) focused on what matters–to me.

So stay tuned for more of the same…old.

d3gytrmj77m-gaelle-marcel

used under cc0 license via Unsplash.com 

3 thoughts on “Coming Clean

  1. leavelindzalone says:

    I’m glad you’re coming back to doing and focusing on what you love. Has it really been 5 years?!

    I also wanted to say that my 30 Before 30 List was one of the most fun things I did and I was so happy I shared it on my blog. I can’t wait to see yours!

    • Resa says:

      Thank you! It has been…I can hardly believe it. I’m really looking forward to the 30 Before 30, I hope it’s just as fun 🙂

Leave a Reply

