Anywhere But Here

Growing up I used to pray for something to happen.

I wanted to walk into a closet and end up in another world. I wanted to get a letter that changed everything. I wanted a long lost relative to will me a haunted house. You know, the usual.

I can’t tell you exactly why, but I can venture some educated guesses. I read too many books. I had an overactive imagination. I was an only child and needed to pass time alone. Facing down a thousand orcs seemed safer than facing the pack of mean girls who made my life hell in middle school.

darkestpartforestSo average, ordinary, overlooked Hazel in Holly Black’s The Darkest Part of the Forest would probably have been a friend of mine. But as Hazel’s imaginary life becomes a reality (as the imaginary does when you live in fairy-infested Fairhold, PA) all I could feel was jealous.

Because nothing is ever really ordinary in fiction and fairy tales.

As soon as I finished this book I had a kind of revelation. As an editor I have lots of rules, guidelines, input, and market research to take under advisement as I work. It’s technical, professional, clinical. Surgical precision makes a good editor, but it sours writing.

 

I could say I have aspirations to write because I want to earn a living as a writer. Technical. Professional.

But that’s not true.

I want to be a writer because I want to live in a world that’s more magical, more right, more true than the one we’re stuck in, and writing is the only way I know to make the real world a little more fictional.

Until then, me and the Programmer are looking for a place in PA. Maybe we’ll try to find a Fairhold of our own. Remembering to keep grave dirt in our pockets and salt across our thresholds (of course!).

Why do you write? 

2 thoughts on “Anywhere But Here

  1. Alison Doherty says:

    LOVE THIS. It’s so crazy to find the balance between jobs that are creative and give you $$$ and having enough time to write/fulfilling that need. I can’t wait to read your books someday … also this is a great reminder to read The Darkest Part of the Forest. It has been on my TBR list forever!

    • Resa says:

      Right?! And finding the energy to balance doing well work-wise with doing well in your own writing. It gets exhausting sometimes.

      I hope you enjoy it! I really like Holly Black, so I might be biased, but I thought the story was really fun.

Leave a Reply

