This is why I hate working on dark aida.

This week’s post includes basically 2 weeks of progress on the mandala, which though small, seems to be taking forever.

It also includes one of my least favorite cross stitching obstacles: black thread on black linen. It’s impossible to see, and can only be done on days where the light is great. This is the number one reason I prefer smaller count linen to aida cloth. If this were linen, I could use white linen with stitches you can’t see through. Defeating the need for dark background cloth.

Here’s an example of one side with the black stitches, and one side without. I bet you can hardly see the difference!

Once the other colors are finished it’ll look nicer, but until then I’m just driving myself crazy . The price of our crafts…

31317_image3

What are you crafting this week?

Leave a Reply

